Gujarat Exclusive > National-World > BJP MLA files fresh plea against BSP MLAs merger with Congress

BJP MLA files fresh plea against BSP MLAs merger with Congress


BJP MLA Madan Dilawar on Tuesday filed a fresh petition in the Rajasthan High Court challenging the decision of Speaker CP Joshi to reject his complaint over six BSP MLAs joining the Congress.

The high court on Monday dismissed an earlier petition of the BJP MLA as “infructuous” as the Speaker had passed an order on the complaint.

In the earlier petition, he had questioned Speaker’s inaction on his complaint which he had filed in March seeking the disqualification of six BSP MLAs. He had sought their disqualification under para 2 of the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution.

What is in the fresh plea?

In the fresh plea, the MLA has challenged the validity, legality and correctness of the order passed by the Speaker on July 24 on his complaint.

Dilawar alleged that he was not heard by the speaker while taking a decision.

Also Read: Gujarat reports 1,052 new cases

On Monday, the MLA staged a dharna in the chamber of Assembly secretary to get a copy of the order.

Merger mystery

Sandeep Yadav, Wajib Ali, Deepchand Kheria, Lakhan Meena, Jogendra Awana and Rajendra Gudha had contested and won the2018 Assembly elections on BSP tickets. Later, they as a group merged with the Congress in September 2019.

They submitted an application for a merger on September 16, 2019, and the speaker issued an order on September 18, 2019.

The merger of BSP MLAs with the ruling Congress was a boost to the Ashok Gehlot-led government as the tally of Congress increased to 107 in an Assembly with 200 seats.

Mayawati criticises Gehlot for theft of MLAs

Meanwhile, BSP supremo Mayawati on Tuesday said Ashok Gehlot will be “taught a lesson” for “theft of MLAs”. She said she would knock on the doors of the Supreme Court, if required, to fight back the merger of 6 BSP MLAs with the Congress.

The BSP has also approached the Rajasthan High Court to become a party in the case filed by BJP’s Madan Dilawar.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here