Gujarat Exclusive > Gujarat news > BJP declares candidates for Gujarat bypolls

BJP declares candidates for Gujarat bypolls


The BJP on Sunday declared the names of seven candidates who will contest the Gujarat Assembly bye-elections scheduled on November 3. However, the saffron party is yet to take a call on the Limbdi seat and it is expected that the party will soon declare its candidate for the same.

The list of candidates who have been given tickets for the bye-elections include the Congress turncoats who defected to BJP.

The eight vacant Assembly constituencies in Gujarat are Abdasa, Limbdi, Karjan, Dangs, Kaprada, Morbi, Gadhada and Dhari.

Congress turncoats rewarded

Congress MLAs who had resigned from the Gujarat Legislative Assembly to join the BJP have been rewarded by the saffron party.

Pradyuman Singh Jadeja has been given a ticket by BJP from Kutch’s Abdasa seat, Akshar Patel has been given a ticket for Karjan and JV Kakadiya has been given a ticket from Dhari.

Similarly, Aatmaram Parmar has been given a ticket from Gadhada, Vijay Patel has been given ticket from Dangs and Brijesh Merja has been given ticket from Morbi.

This apart, the saffron party has fielded Jitu Chaudhary from Kaprada.

Also Read: SMC spent close to Rs4 crore to sterilize 46000 street dogs, RTI activist suspects a scam

Notably, it was being speculated that the Congress MLAs who ditched their party before the Rajya Sabha election to join the BJP will be rewarded. The speculation proved to be correct with five Congress turncoats getting election tickets.

BJP cadres unhappy

The decision to reward Congress turncoats has made several BJP leaders unhappy. Also, a section of the BJP workers are unhappy as they feel that those working for the party have been overlooked to facilitate the Congress turncoats.

Congress turncoats had resigned before RS polls

Initially, four MLAs of the Congress resigned in the run-up to the Rajya Sabha polls. But, by the time the polls were held, four more had resigned.

This had helped three candidates of the BJP win the Rajya Sabha polls while only from the Congress sailed through.

Originally, as per its strength in the Assembly, Congress was poised to win two seats, but the resignation of its eight MLAs spoiled Congress’ game plan


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here