Gujarat Exclusive > National-World > Another embarrassment for BJP in Bengal as MLA Tanmoy Ghosh joins TMC

Another embarrassment for BJP in Bengal as MLA Tanmoy Ghosh joins TMC


In yet another blow for the West Bengal BJP, its MLA from Bishnupur Assembly constituency Tanmoy Ghosh has dumped the party to join the Trinamool Congress (TMC). Ghosh was welcomed into the Mamata Banerjee-led party by Bengal Cabinet minister Bratya Basu.

After joining the TMC, Ghosh said, “BJP is into vindictive politics. They are attempting to snatch the rights of WB people by using central agencies. I urge all politicians to support CM Mamata Banerjee for public welfare.”

Meanwhile, TMC tweeted, “Inspired by @MamataOfficial’s developmental work for the people of #Bengal, @BJP4Bengal MLA from Bishnupur Shri Tanmay Ghosh joined the Trinamool family today in the presence of Shri @basu_bratya. We extend a very warm welcome to him!”

Not the first defection from Bengal BJP

Tanmay Ghosh is certainly not the first from Bengal BJP to join the TMC. Earlier in June, the saffron party’s first import from the Trinamool Congress in Bengal and its national vice president, Mukul Roy, returned to TMC ending weeks of speculations. His son, Shubhranshu, also returned to TMC.

Upon his return to TMC, Mukul Roy had said, “I feel great at seeing my old colleagues, after leaving the BJP.  I cannot be in the BJP.” He described Mamata Banerjee as “the only leader of Bengal and India”. On being questioned about his repeated attacks on Banerjee in the past, Roy said that he never had any differences with “didi”.

Several leaders who left the Trinamool Congress to join BJP are queuing up to again join the TMC. Notably, before the polls, these TMC turncoats, including MLAs and MPs, made a beeline to join BJP hoping that the party will win the polls. With so many leaders leaving the TMC, political experts had said that the party will collapse due to the exodus.

However, the result was exactly the opposite, with TMC registering a thumping victory winning 213 of the 292 Assembly seats where elections were held. The BJP that was confident to secure at least 200 seats in the Bengal polls could manage to win only 77 seats. Its tally further went down with two BJP MPs, who had contested and won the Assembly polls, tendering their resignation to continue in the Lok Sabha.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here