Gujarat Exclusive > National-World > BJP rules the roost in Assembly bypolls in MP, UP and Gujarat

BJP rules the roost in Assembly bypolls in MP, UP and Gujarat


The BJP has once again dwarfed the Opposition in the Assembly bypolls in the crucial states of Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh and Gujarat.

Not just the bypolls, but in Bihar election too, the BJP has been successful in increasing its tally in the state. It has emerged as the single largest party in Bihar surpassing JDU as well as RJD.

Notably, Assembly bypolls were held on November 3 in 11 states on 59 seats. The counting of votes started on Tuesday.

Here is the latest update (8.30 pm) from the Assembly bypolls:

Madhya Pradesh bypolls

According to the Election Commission website data till 8.30 pm, BJP is way ahead of the Congress in the Madhya Pradesh Assembly bypolls. Out of the 28 seats where voting was held, BJP has won 12 seats as against three seats of the Congress.

The saffron party is leading in seven seats, whereas the Congress is also leading in six seats.

Uttar Pradesh bypolls

In UP, election was conducted for seven Assembly constituencies. BJP, under the leadership of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, has emerged as the winner in six seats. Akhilesh Yadav’s Samajwadi Party has also won a seat.

Gujarat bypolls

In Gujarat, election was held on eight seats. In all the eight seats, BJP candidates (many of them Congress turncoats) have won. Congress candidates lost all the seats.

Haryana & Chhattisgarh bypolls

In Haryana, election was held for only one Assembly constituency and Congress has won the seat. Like Haryana, the election was held for only one Assembly seat in Chhattisgarh in which the Congress is comfortably leading.

Jharkhand bypolls

The election was held for two Assembly constituencies in Jharkhand. While BJP won one of the seats, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha won the other.

Karnataka bypolls

In Karnataka, bypolls were held for two Assembly constituencies. Interestingly, BJP won in both the Assembly seats.

Manipur bypolls

Bypolls were conducted for five Assembly seats in Manipur. Out of the five seats, BJP has won three seats and is leading in another one. An independent candidate has won in one of the seats.

Nagaland bypolls

The election was held for two Assembly seats in Nagaland. While an independent candidate won from one of the seats, the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party won another seat.

Odisha bypolls

In Odisha, bypolls were held for two Assembly seats. The ruling Biju Janata Dal is leading in both the seats.

Telangana bypoll

In Telangana, election was held on one seat and the BJP won the seat.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here