Gujarat Exclusive > Politics > BJP appoints union ministers as poll in-charges for 5 states

BJP appoints union ministers as poll in-charges for 5 states


The BJP on Wednesday set the ball rolling for the Assembly polls due in five states—Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa and Manipur—by announcing its election in-charges. Notably, the saffron party is already in power in all the states, except Punjab, and aims to retain power.

The BJP has deployed Union ministers for the party’s poll management in these states. With Uttar Pradesh being the most important state for the party in the greater scheme of things, Union education minister Dharmendra Pradhan has been appointed as the BJP’s election in-charge.

Pradhan will be assisted by the minister of information and broadcasting Anurag Thakur, minister of state (MoS) Arjun Ram Meghwal, MoS Agriculture Sobha Karandlaje, MoS Education Annapoorna Devi, former Haryana state minister Captain Abhimanyu, and Rajya Sabha MPs Vivek Thakur and Saroj Pandey.

Parliamentary affairs minister Pralhad Joshi will be the BJP’s election in-charge in Uttarakhand. Lok Sabha MP Locket Chatterjee and party spokesperson RP Singh will assist Joshi in the task.

In Punjab, Union Cabinet minister Gajendra Singh Shekhawat will head the BJP’s campaign. Union aviation minister Hardeep Singh Puri, MoS External Affairs Meenakshi Lekhi and Lok Sabha MP Vinod Chavda will be co-incharges. Labour Minister Bhupender Yadav has been given the charge for Manipur. Junior Minister Pratibha Bhaumik is the co-incharge along with Ashok Singhal.

Devendra Fadnavis to lead BJP’s campaign in Goa

For Goa, the BJP has chosen former Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis to lead the party’s poll campaign. Union minister G Kishan Reddy and MoS railway Darshana Jardosh have been appointed to assist Fadnavis. Notably, Devendra Fadnavis was also the in-charge of the party’s poll campaign in Bihar where it outperformed its ally—Nitish Kumar led JD(U)—by winning more seats than expected.


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here