Gujarat Exclusive > Gujarat news > BJP appoints in-charge for by polls of 8 seats in Gujarat

BJP appoints in-charge for by polls of 8 seats in Gujarat


After breaking the Congress numbers, the BJP in the state is gearing up for the by-elections that will be held in the state following the resignation of eight Congress MLAs. The party has appointed two incharge – one from the party and other from the state government- for each of the eight seats that will see a by-poll in the coming days. It should be noted that eight MLAs of the Congress had resigned from the BJP ahead of the Rajya Sabha polls helping the Saffron party win three seats in the Rajya Sabha elections. Five of the eight Congress MLAs had later joined the BJP.

The appointments were made at a meeting of the core committee of BJP in Gandhinagar on Monday. The meeting was attended by national joint organisational secretary V Satish, Chief minister and deputy chief minister Vijay Rupani and Nitin Patel, Union Minister Purshottam Rupala and state BJP president Jitu Vaghani among others.

Also Read: AMC fines Rajasthan hospital Rs77 lakh for delay in admitting COVID-19 patient that lead to his death

State BJP vice-president Bhargav Bhatt and former minister Shanker Chaudhary will be overall incharge of the by-polls. Ganpat Vasava and Purnesh Modi will handle Dangs, Bhupendrasinh Chudasama and KC Patel got responsibility of Abdasa while RC Faldu and Nitin Bharadwaj were asked to look after Limbdi. Pradipsinj Jadeja and S Brahmbhatt will handle Karjan, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja and Dhansukh Bhanderi will have Dhari, Kunvarji Bavali and Gordhan Zadaphia Gadhada, Ishwar Patel and Bharatsinh Patel Kaprada, Saurabh Patel and IK Jadeja Morbi.