Gujarat Exclusive > National-World > BJP, JD(U) wins Bihar Assembly election

BJP, JD(U) wins Bihar Assembly election


The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) led by the BJP and comprising of JD(U) won the close contest and emerged victorious in the Bihar Assembly elections on Wednesday. The counting of votes continued well past midnight for many Assembly constituencies, but eventually, the result came in favour of the NDA.

Notably, NDA won 125 seats out of the 243 Assembly seats, whereas the Grand Alliance (Mahagatbandhan) remained confined to 110 seats.

The BJP emerged as the big brother in the Bihar alliance by winning more seats that Nitish Kumar’s JD(U).  While BJP won 74 out of the 110 seats it contested, JD(U) could win only 43 seats.

However, the two major parties are still short of a clear majority of 122 and it is the smaller parties of the alliance that are going to be the kingmaker. Jitan Ram Manjhi’s Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) and Vikassheel Insaan Party won four seats each, which propelled the NDA beyond the magic figure.

Congress’ poor show responsible for Opposition’s failure

The Grand Alliance led by Tejashwi Yadav might have lost the election, but RJD emerged as the single-largest party in the Bihar election. It won 75 seats, but was let down by Congress that was decimated to just 19 seats of the 70 it had contested. Many have blamed the failure of the Opposition to clinch victory from Nitish Kumar on the Congress’ poor performance in the Bihar election. Congress has won eight seats less than what it had won in the last election.

Interestingly, the Left parties that are losing ground everywhere in the country have performed well in the Bihar election. The Left parties won 16 seats together, with 12 seats won by the CPI (ML).

Also Read: MI clinches 5th IPL title after defeating DC in final

Another surprising change was Asaduddin Owaisi-led AIMIM making significant inroads in Bihar, a development that the Congress claims was a reason behind its poor show. Notably, the party won five seats.

Chirag Paswan factor

While Chirag Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) may have won only one seat—a performance poor by any standard, his rebellion against Nitish Kumar seems to have a major dent on JD(U)’s performance in the election. Political experts are claiming that LJP was a major factor behind JD(U)’s poor show in the Bihar election.

New decade of Bihar: PM Modi

Prime Minister Narendra Modi took to Twitter to congratulate the voters of Bihar for supporting NDA. He posted a series of tweets in this regard.

He said: “The youth of Bihar have made it clear that new decade will be of Bihar and for self-reliant Bihar. People’s blessings to NDA’s good governance even after 15 years of rule show what are Bihar’s dreams and expectations.”

“Bihar taught the world the first lesson of democracy and today again it has told the world how democracy is strengthened. I assure every citizen of Bihar that NDA govt will work with full dedication for balanced development of every person, every region.”

Union Home Minister Amit Shah also thanked the people of Bihar. In a series of tweets in Hindi, Shah said, “Bihar has once again chosen the development politics of NDA and has rejected casteism and appeasement politics. I thank all the brothers and sisters of the state from the core of my heart for re-choosing development, progress and good governance.”


To read the latest news in Gujarati click here