Gujarat Exclusive > Gujarat news > Bhupendra Patel takes oath as 17th CM of Gujarat

Bhupendra Patel takes oath as 17th CM of Gujarat

  • Besides Home Minister Amit Shah, CMs of Goa, Haryana, Karnataka and Madhya Pradesh, too, attended the event

Gandhinagar: A day after being declared as the next chief in the BJP-led government in Gujarat, Bhupendra Patel was sworn in as the 17th chief minister of Gujarat on Monday. He was administered the oath of office by Governor Acharya Devvrat. He took the oath in Gujarati.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah had arrived in the state to attend the ceremony. Chief ministers of other states like Goa CM Pramod Sawant, Karnataka CM Basavaraj Bommai, Haryana CM Manohar lal Khattar and Madhya Pradesh CM Shivrajsinh Chauhan, too, were present on the occasion.

After the swearing-in, they congratulated the new CM of Gujarat.

About the new CM

Bhupendra Patel became the member and later president of Memnagar municipality in 1990s.

In 2008, he became the vice-chairman of Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation School Board. He was made the chairman of standing committee of AMC in 2010 and then chairman of Ahmedabad Urban Development Authority (AUDA).

Bhupendra Patel was elected the MLA in Gujarat Assembly for the first time in 2017 from the Ghatlodia constituency, vacated by former CM Anandiben Patel. He had won the seat by a huge margin.

He belongs to the Kadva Patel community. This is probably for the first time that a Kadva Patel has been made the chief minister of the state.

Already started work

Bhupendra Patel did not wait for the swearing-in ceremony to take charge. Earlier in the day, he talked to the Collector of Jamnagar and gave instructions for relief work in rain-battered villages in the district.

He now faces the tough task of leading BJP in the Assembly elections in 2022, even as the party hopes to cash in on his clean image and win more seats.




To read the latest news in Gujarati click here