Gujarat Exclusive > Gujarat news > AMC declares seven new containment zones in city, total touches 44

AMC declares seven new containment zones in city, total touches 44


The Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation (AMC) has declared seven new containment zones in the city. With this, the city now has 44 containment zones. An area or residential society is declared as a containment zone after it records an unusually high number of COVID-19 cases.

Of the seven new containment zones declared four are in the west zone, two in the new west zone and one in south west zone. The ones in the new west zone include Gajraj Society, Chandlodia, and Maruti Complex, Bodakdev. The ones in the west are – Krupa Flats, Vasna, Thakor Vas in Sabarmati, Karnavati Flats in Naranpura and Tejendranagar Society in Chandkheda. In the south west zone it was Juno Rohitvas in Sarkhej that was declared as a containment zone.

Also Read:  Gujarat reports its biggest single-day surge of 624 COVID-19 cases, death toll climbs to 1,809

Earlier on June 25, a residential society in Bopal was also declared as a new containment zone by the Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation (AMC). Bopal is part of the south-west zone in the city. The residential society – Orchid Paradise- is part of Safal Parisar-2 in South Bopal with 383 houses and 1200 residents.

Ahmedabad on Sunday recorded 211 new cases of which 198 were within city limits. With this, the total number of cases and deaths in Ahmedabad district now stands at 20,480 and 1,423, respectively.