Gujarat Exclusive > 8 EU countries approve Covishield a day after after India’s warning

8 EU countries approve Covishield a day after after India’s warning


New Delhi: In a relief to those wanting to travel to Europe, eight countries of the European Union have given approval to Covishield, the Covid-19 vaccine manufactured by Serum Institute of India (SII). These are Switzerland, Austria, Germany, Slovenia, Greece, Iceland, Ireland and Spain. The move comes a day after India warned of reciprocal action if European Union failed to include its vaccines, Covishield and Covaxin in the EU Digital Covid Certificate.

The eight countries of the bloc have now added Covishield to their Green Passport list.

In its formal request to the EU, India had on Wednesday urged the EU to consider exempting those administered Covishield or Covaxin, vaccines manufactured in India, from mandatory quarantine.  It had warned that if these vaccines were not approved, it would follow the policy of reciprocity and would not exempt European nationals from mandatory quarantine even if they had an EU Digital Covid Certificate.

The EU had clarified that individual member countries could accept vaccines like Covishield that had been approved by WHO. Its Digital Covid Certificate is proof that the person carrying it has either been vaccinated against Covid, has had a negative test result or recovered from the infection.



To read the latest news in Gujarati click here